Ministry of Forests Annual Report 1995/96

Ministry of Forests Annual Report 1995/96 Table of Contents

The Ministry's Structure

The ministry is structured to:

Changes since 1994/95

The major ministry reorganization begun in 1994 was completed by December 31, 1995. The ministry organizational diagram on pages 12 and 13 illustrates reporting relationships after completion of that reorg-anization (as of March 31, 1996).

The name of Management Services Division was changed to Revenue and Corporate Services Division.

On April 1, 1995, the former Valuation Branch became Revenue Branch (refer to Revenue and Corporate Services Division on page 26).

Significant organizational changes took effect at the district level. Refer to the section Districts organization, on page 15, for details.

There were no changes to regional organization during the 1995/96 fiscal year.

Headquarters and divisions organization

The ministry has four divisions:

Each division is headed by an assistant deputy minister. These four officials, together with the executive director of Operations, the deputy chief forester, and the director of Public Affairs, make up the ministry's executive, chaired by the deputy minister.

Branches are organized within divisions, with the exception of Public Affairs Branch, which reports directly to the deputy minister. All branches are headed by directors.

Operations Division

Operations is the largest division in the ministry, and the only one with direct regional and district responsibilities: all of the ministry's district and regional delivery is done through this division.

Operation's branches are Protection, Resource Tenures and Engineering, Compliance and Enforcement, Business Design, and Nursery and Seed Operations.

Forestry Division

This division ensures that all Crown forest lands are managed to provide the greatest long-term benefits for British Columbians.

The assistant deputy minister, who is also the chief forester, is responsible for determining the allowable annual cuts for timber supply areas and tree farm licences.

Forestry Division's six branches are Silviculture Practices, Resources Inventory, Research, Timber Supply, Forestry Division Services, and the Range, Recreation and Forest Practices Branch.

Revenue and Corporate Services Division

Revenue and Corporate Services (formerly Management Services) provides professional corporate staff advice and administrative services.

Six branch directors report to the assistant deputy minister, who is also the ministry's executive financial officer.

Revenue and Corporate Services' six branches are Financial Management, Technical and Administrative Services, Human Resources, Audit Services, Information Systems, and Revenue (formerly Valuation).

Policy and Planning Division

The Policy and Planning Division provides analysis and policy development in strategic areas, including issues pertaining to aboriginal affairs.

The division's four branches are Corporate Policy and Planning, Economics and Trade, Aboriginal Affairs, and Integrated Resources Policy.

Regions organization

For administrative purposes, the ministry divides the province into six forest regions, each with a regional manager. The forest regions are sub-divided into forest districts, as shown in the organizational charts on pages 12 and 13.

All forest regions and districts come under the authority of the Operations Division.

Regional staff managers provide advice and services to each regional manager, and to the various district managers, who report to the regional manager.

Regional office personnel are responsible for servicing, coordinating and monitoring the activities of all field personnel operating out of district offices.

Regional office staff develop regional programs and plans, and ensure that all policies, programs and procedures originating from ministry headquarters are administered consistently and effectively throughout the region.

The organization of a Forest Service regional office is illustrated on page 16.

Districts organization

The province is divided into 43 districts, each administered from its own office by a district manager. Some districts also administer field offices.

As part of the ministry-wide reorganization begun in 1994, all forest districts were changed to either a Zone Model or a Pre/Post-Award Model. Districts were allowed to select the model they wished. Under both models, district offices still work under the authority of a forest district manager, and both now include a manager of Revenue and Corporate Services, and a manager of Operations and Land Information.

The Zone Model is based on area specifically, on the creation of two or more distinct land management areas within district boundaries. Within the prescribed zone, a team of foresters, technicians and engineers ensures that integrated forest management activities including those under the Small Business Forest Enterprise Program are properly carried out. Staff of the zone are responsible for all line activities within the area. Districts using a Zone Model are composed of four teams reporting to the district manager.

The Pre/Post-Award Model is based on function: it aligns and then separates the resource management activities that must take place prior to the issuance of a cutting authority, from those that commence immediately after a cutting authority has been granted. Districts using the Pre/Post-Award Model are composed of five sections reporting to the district manager.

The organization of both types of Forest Service district offices is illustrated on this page and page 18.

Return to top Back Forward