Ministry of Forests Annual Report 1994/95

Ministry of Forests Annual Report 1994/95 Table of Contents

The Ministry's Structure

The Ministry of Forests 1994/95 organization by reporting function

The ministry is structured to:

Headquarters: general organization

The ministry has four divisions:

Each division is headed by an assistant deputy minister. These four officials, together with the executive director of Operations, the deputy chief forester and the director of Public Affairs, make up the ministry's executive, chaired by the deputy minister.

Branches are organized within divisions, with the exception of Public Affairs Branch, which reports directly to the deputy minister. All branches are headed by directors.

Headquarters: divisions organization

Operations Division

Operations is the largest division in the ministry, and the only one with direct regional and district responsibilities: all of the ministry's district and regional delivery is done through this division.

Operation's branches include: Protection, Resource Tenures and Engineering, Enforcement, Business Design, and Nursery and Seed Operations.

Forestry Division

This division ensures that all Crown forest lands are managed to provide the greatest long-term benefits for British Columbians.

The assistant deputy minister, who is also the chief forester, is responsible for determining the allowable annual cuts for timber supply areas and tree farm licences.

Forestry Division's six branches are Silviculture Practices, Resources Inventory, Research, Timber Supply, Forestry Division Services, and the Range, Recreation and Forest Practices Branch.

Management Services Division

Management Services provides professional corporate staff advice and administrative services.

Six branch directors report to the assistant deputy minister, who is also the ministry's executive financial officer.

Management Services' six branches are Financial Management, Technical and Administrative Services, Human Resources, Audit Services, Information Systems, and Valuation (Revenue).

Policy and Planning Division

The Policy and Planning Division provides analysis and policy development in strategic areas, including issues pertaining to aboriginal affairs.

The division's four branches are Corporate Policy and Planning, Economics and Trade, Aboriginal Affairs, and Integrated Resources Policy.

Regions: general organization

For administrative purposes, the province is divided into six forest regions, each with a regional manager. The forest regions are sub-divided into forest districts, as shown in the organizational chart on pages 22 and 23.

All forest regions and districts come under the authority of the Operations Division.

Regional staff managers provide advice and services to each regional manager, and to the various district managers, who report to the regional manager.

Regional office personnel are responsible for servicing, coordinating and monitoring the activities of all field personnel operating out of district offices.

Regional office staff develop regional programs and plans, and ensure that all policies, programs and procedures originating from ministry headquarters are administered consistently and effectively throughout the region.

The organization of a regional office is shown in the organizational chart on page 25.

Districts: general organization

The province is divided into 43 districts, each administered from its own office by a district manager. Some districts also administer field offices.

Depending on the necessity for specific programs, three or four operations managers provide advice and services to each district manager.

The organization of a district office is shown in the organizational chart.

Return to topBackForward